Mon-Sat 09.00 - 18.00 Call: 040 - 66318068

About IIT(BHU)

Indian Institute of Technology(BHU)

Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University) Varanasi IIT (BHU) Varanasi) is a public engineering and
research institution located in Varanasi, founded in 1919 as the Banaras Engineering College. Banaras Hindu
Unviersity (BHU) is a premier institution founded by the great visionary, Bharat Ratna Pandit. Madan Mohan
Malviya Ji in 1919. It became the Institute of Technology (BHU) in 1968 by the amalgamation of BENCO, MINMET
and TECHNO the original three colleges established by Pt. Madan Mohan Malviya Ji for engineering education in
India in 1919. In 1968, BENCO, TECHNO and MINMET were merged into one and the Institute of Technology (ITBHU) was established integrating the all engineering departments.

IIT (BHU) is an Institute of national importance created by an Act of the Parliament through the Institutes of
Technology (Amendment) Act, 2012 vide Gazette Notification dated 29.06.2012.

BHU has the credit of first starting degree classes in Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Metallurgy and Pharmaceutics.

IIT (BHU) Varanasi has 15 departments and 3 inter-disciplinary schools.